Urban Myth #1 - One base plus the one you are going to.

I'm sure many of you have heard this "rule" spoken of with authority :-)
The ball is overthrown and someone mentions softball's most common urban myth.... the runner gets "One base plus the one you are going to."

The Rule is clear: "All runners, including the batter-runner, shall be awarded two bases, and the award will be governed by the position of the runners when the ball left the fielder's hand"
ISF Rule 8 Section 7 f

But isn't that roughly the same thing?

No, it's not. Imagine a player standing on 2nd base watching an enthusiastic shortstop wildly over throwing the ball at 1st. The player isn't going to any base, so the urban myth would put the runner on 3rd. The rules say the player gets awarded two bases and goes home.

Imagine a player running back to 1st base after leaving the base too soon and the ball is caught. A quick thinking fielder, whose intelligence is better than their accuracy, over throws 1st base trying to get them out. The runner was heading to 1st... are they only then going to get 2nd base? No, the rule doesn't mention anything about bases. It doesn't mention anything about the base you are going to, the last base you legally owned or the last base touched. The rule says you get awarded 2 bases from where you are when the ball is thrown. So the runner goes to 3rd base.

So to clarify.... there is no such rule and you can privately mock those who say there is. Or better still send them here to be enlightened.

No comments:

Post a Comment